Clube Atlético Mineiro

- Florida Cup -

You are here:

17.01.16 Florida Cup

Atletico 1-0 Corinthians: Galo beats Corinthians and wins 2016 Florida Cup

Galo won its second match with a goal from Hyuri, and benefited from other Sunday results to secure the title.

20160117144631 (2)

20160117145443Atletico has started 2016 at full throttle, and is bringing home from the U.S. another international title. Galo has beaten Corinthians 1-0 this Sunday, thanks to a Hyuri goal, to secure the Florida Cup title.

With the 1-1 draw between Fluminense and Shakhtar Donetsk, no other team will match Atletico’s six points after the 3-0 win over Schalke 04 on Wednesday.

The Alvinegro had the best chances in the beggining of the match, as Marcos Rocha, Pratto and Thiago Ribeiro all nearly found the net. Corinthians, meanwhile, forced Victor to save a long shot in the 12th minute, while Romero was also close after heading the ball onto the crossbar.

20160117144629 (1)Datolo and Luan almost scored if not for the woodwork and a miraculous save from Corinthians’ GK Walter, and Galo continued to pressure its opponent until the goal finally came in the second half, after sub Juan Cazares found Hyuri clear to finish and make it 1-0.

The soon-to-be champion created other chances, with Hyuri almost grabbing his second by completing Patric’s cross in the 39th minute before hitting the bar. From there, Galo only needed to hold on to the one-goal advantage to secure the title.

ATLÉTICO 1 vs. 0 CORINTHIANS – Florida Cup

Date: Jan 17th, 2016
Time: 2:00 P.M. (EST)
Ground: Florida Atlantic University (FAU), Boca Raton, FL
Scorers: Hyuri (57′)
Referree: Marcos Oliveira (BRA)
Assistants: Kelvin Klinger (EUA) e Hayden Oscanoa (EUA)
Yellow cards: Leonardo Silva, Marcos Rocha (Atlético)

Victor; Marcos Rocha, Jemerson, Leonardo Silva (Erazo) e Douglas Santos; Rafael Carioca (Eduardo), Leandro Donizete (Lucas Cândido), Dátolo (Juan Cazares) e Luan (Carlos); Thiago Ribeiro (Hyuri) e Lucas Pratto (Patric).
Coach: Diego Aguirre.

Walter, Fagner (Edilson), Felipe, Gil (Yago) e Uendel (Guilherme Arana); Bruno Henrique (Marciel); Danilo (Mendoza), Elias (Moisés), Rodriguinho (Marlone) e Malcom (Cristian); Romero (Lucca).
Coach: Tite.

Published on January 17 - 2016, at 21:14.